Adoption & Life (Jacob’s View) Part 2

Well, I think I am going to fall in love with this blogging thing.  I have time to share my thoughts now and have a bigger audience than I ever figured God would put in front of me.  So, as long as I have the platform to share what God is doing in my life I will share!

As I previously stated in my first blog, it has been a crazy couple of years for Anna and I.  We have had some pretty incredible things happen in our lives that God deserves full glory for!  So, in front of God and everyone, Thank You Lord for direction, love, and continued purpose (as all of us have) in our lives.  I can tell you that a year and a half ago I would have never thought that Anna and I would be in the process of an adoption and going in to full-time missions with Praying Pelican.  In fact, I was quite comfortable (there in lies the problem) with our lives in youth ministry, buying our first home, and having our first dog (Walter, as most of you know is not exactly normal).  After all, that is the definition of the American dream, especially when you are called in to ministry.  So, we were well on our way to living the life that would be normal and exciting.

Little did we know that in a matter of 2 years God would bring our comfortable plans to a screeching halt and take us in a total new direction for life.  For some of you, Southside family, it was very hard to understand and at times continues to be difficult for you to understand.  So, let me shed a little light on how God has flipped our world upside down.

A lot of you know that I tend to be the sane one in this Morgan Journey and usually have the most logic when it comes to decision making (thank you Mom).  That has in many occasions saved Anna and I (Like being able to eat every night instead of just a few nights a week), but has in many ways been our demise.  I can honestly say that because of my timidity I have held us back in areas that God wanted us to excel far beyond where we may have landed.  So, I want to say thank you to my wife for being faithful and spontaneous even when I was not able to do so.

So, a little over 2 years ago I received a brochure for this missions organization that would change our lives forever.  This little brochure was information that was sent to me, at Southside, about mission trips for 2012.  I had heard of this company Praying Pelican Missions, because our home church had been to Belize with them, but I was really intrigued by the style and design in the brochure.  So, knowing that I wanted to get our youth students on a mission trip I began to dig a little deeper into PPM.  If I have to be completely honest I had no idea what I was doing wanting to take students out of the country, but I knew that God was calling us to go.  This brochure had 5 countries listed in it: Mexico, Haiti, Jamaica, USA (Tuscon, Chicago, and Miami), and Belize (of course).  So, after praying and talking with Anna we naturally settled on this country we knew nothing about and had only heard of one team taking a trip to, Belize.

Well, as most of you know that trip to Belize has forever changed us because of the adoption, but it also began the process of leading us in to full-time missions.  We always knew we wanted to adopt, but the whole missions thing was never really clear for us.  Yes, we loved missions and serving, but the idea of doing this all the time had never entered my mind (It probably had entered Anna’s, but she also has at least 15 ideas a day).  When we returned from Belize, Anna could not believe that that was a full-time job for Laura (out trip leader) and had to know more.  As we began the adoption process, Anna also began to figure out how she was going to work for PPM.  After being back from Belize for a couple of months, Anna came to me with the elaborate proposition of how she could quit her job at Troy and work for PPM.  Needless to say, I was not on board and thought it was one of the worst ideas she had ever brought to my attention.  So, I told her we would continue to pray about it, but it was not fitting for our budget and this perfect first 3 years of the American dream we had begun!

Fast-forward to this past summer, when God totally wrecked my world in my quite time and began to show me that my ways were not, and never would, be the plan.  The summer of 2013 will forever be the summer that I have been closest to the Lord in my 25 years of life.  Anna and I had spent spring break in Costa Rica with our college students on a mission trip, and from that point on I knew that God was changing my heart in ministry.  It just took me 4 months to realize I was going to be taking on this elaborate plan that Anna had proposed to me a year earlier.  So, Anna came to me again in July and asked, ” Have you thought anymore about Praying Pelican and does it feel right now?”  Much to her surprise I said, “Yes…” and followed it up with “I think we are both supposed to do this.”  So, in July we began this journey in ministry that terrifies me everyday.  It terrifies me that we will be broke and do not have set pay, it terrifies me that we are moving, and most of all it terrifies me that we do not know what is next.  With that said, I know God has a perfect plan.  I know that we have followed His will and whenever he calls you to ministry he always provides.  One of my favorite passages of scripture is Matthew 8:18-27 (one of my favorite passages to preach from):

Discipleship Tested

18 Now when Jesus saw a crowd around Him, He gave orders to depart to the other side of the sea. 19 Then a scribe came and said to Him, “Teacher, I will follow You wherever You go.” 20 Jesus *said to him, “The foxes have holes and the birds of the air have nests, but the Son of Man has nowhere to lay His head.” 21 Another of the disciples said to Him, “Lord, permit me first to go and bury my father.” 22 But Jesus *said to him, “Follow Me, and allow the dead to bury their own dead.”

23 When He got into the boat, His disciples followed Him. 24 And behold, there arose a great storm on the sea, so that the boat was being covered with the waves; but Jesus Himself was asleep. 25 And they came to Him and woke Him, saying, “Save us, Lord; we are perishing!” 26 He *said to them, “Why are you afraid, you men of little faith?”Then He got up and rebuked the winds and the sea, and it became perfectly calm.27 The men were amazed, and said, “What kind of a man is this, that even the winds and the sea obey Him?” (NASB)

It is perfect to our calling.  We don’t know the plan and their may be days that we don’t know how to provide, but even “the Son of Man has nowhere to lay his head” and it was worth it to see God glorified.  So, in my fear I stand by Jesus, I pray that He continue to make me a “man of faith”, and pray that I continue to let Him guide this crazy life we are living.  HE IS WORTHY!

Are you going to be a true disciple to the King and follow Him no matter where he calls?  Our prayer is that your answer is a resounding, “YES!”

Leave a Reply

