Better to give or to receive?

We’ve all heard, “It’s always better to give and to receive,” right?

I’m not so sure that’s 100% accurate. I’m not talking about monetary stuff. Most normal people do enjoy getting a few extra bucks or a cool gift every now and then, but I’m talking about something more… something great.

Us Morgans love to give – of our time, our money, our house, our food, our shoulders… and whatever else people may find that we have. But receiving is sometimes hard for me… for us. I know I’ve talked about being needy and sometimes struggling with the pride issue that comes when you do have to admit your needy… but, again, this is something different. Receiving blessings. Receiving words of encouragement. Receiving compliments. Receiving affirmations. Receiving support. It’s hard for me…

God has been talking to me about this whole issue of receiving. Sometimes my heart has a hard time with receiving and accepting blessings from others. Even a simple thing of people saying “I really enjoyed reading your blog about…” or “I admire what you and Jacob are doing…” or whatever (it feels gross to even type those things), I always have a rebuttal with how it’s not that great or reasons why we shouldn’t be admired.  Others have spoken things over me – about our life, our ministry, our future, what God is doing and will do, what they see in me, etc…. and, honestly, I just feel stiff. I don’t know how else to explain it. I feel like… there’s no way they could be talking to/about me. There’s no way that could really happen. There’s no way they really see that… in me. I know that humility should always be the heart of a Christian… ya know… not boasting and such, but humility should also be a part of receiving words of life from others. People want to bless me/you by telling things they see in us, and when I shut down… it steals their joy of sharing the blessing and encouragement… and it steals my opportunity to be blessed. I don’t want that.

Why don’t I want to receive it? Why am I so hesitant to just accept it?

I don’t know. Maybe it’s because of my insecurities… STILL. Maybe I don’t believe God can/would use me… even now. Maybe it’s because I don’t see it myself at times. Maybe it’s because I’m too proud, too selfish, too hard, too guarded, too rigid. I don’t know. All I know is, if we really want to know God and be used by God and see Him work… we need to be available to receive His blessings… even through other people. I just need to get out of the way. I need to humble myself before others… listen and receive what they are saying… take it to the Lord… and watch Him work.

And… most importantly… I have to remember that it’s really never about me.

21 Now it is God who makes both us and you stand firm in Christ. He anointed us, 22 set his seal of ownership on us, and put his Spirit in our hearts as a deposit, guaranteeing what is to come.

2 Corinthians 1:21-22

I don’t deserve the blessings… but He does. He deserves all honor… He is the One doing it.

So I don’t know if I’m the only who is weird and doesn’t know how to receive a compliment or a blessing. If I’m not… my challenge and encouragement to you is… let down your walls… let God speak to you through others. Receive it. Delight in it. Rejoice in the fact that He knows you and wants to encourage you – isn’t that AWESOME!?!?!

All throughout the New Testament, we are told to encourage one another. So we should. I think there should also be a command to RECEIVE it… for people like me (and maybe you)!

In other news, we have a new niece and I love her!!!! Meet Kylie Grace – isn’t she marvelous?

1606914_10100622862405746_1738290384_n

Leave a Reply

