Wherever You Would Call Me

Jacob here. Well, I know it has been a while since I have blogged, but as I sit waiting on my flight to take my first trip to Costa Rica with PPM I have been doing quite a bit of thinking.  I’m watching flights come and go from the airport.  It makes me wonder what people are doing with their lives and where their trip of life is taking them.  It brings back the question that my brother asked me in the spring of 2008 that changed my life forever.  We were talking on the phone, and he was getting ready to graduate college, when he posed this question, “What are you doing with your life?”  At the time I did not have an answer.  I was in college and having fun, but my future had never crossed my mind.  So, I remember breaking down and truly surrendering my heart, my mind, my soul, my passions, my plans, my everything to the Lord that night.  That question changed my life forever!

So, I pose the question to our readers, “What are you doing with your life?”  What is the next step or the next journey you have been called to, but are afraid of taking?

I sit here in the airport and can’t believe where God has taken my life in this short 6 years.  I’m married to the greatest woman in the world (Happy Valentine’s Day, since I won’t be here).  I served at a church for 4 years as a student pastor (haha… that’s unbelievable).  We are adopting Eric from Belize.  And I am now serving in ministry with an amazing, Godly, and loving organization, Praying Pelican Missions.  In the last 6 years God has flipped my world upside down and I am blessed in ways that I have never and will never deserve.

The path has not been easy and in many forks in the road I wanted to give up, but God is so good and I am so excited about following his will in our lives.  There is a song that I cannot get out of my head over the last few weeks,  “Oceans (Where My Feet May Fail)” by Hillsong.  This song is wrecking me lately.  The bridge of this song gets me every time:

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior

Could you imagine truly following wherever he would lead?  Some of you would not be doing the job you are currently doing.  Some would be in a different place in the world.  Some would be on an unexplained adventure.  So, I challenge our readers this morning.  Are you willing to step out of the boat and trust Jesus wherever He may lead you? Or, will we be scared of the waves and have little faith to let go and surrender?

Matthew 14:22-33 (NASB)

Jesus Walks on the Water

22 Immediately He [a]made the disciples get into the boat and go ahead of Him to the other side, while He sent the crowds away. 23 After He had sent the crowds away, He went up on the mountain by Himself to pray; and when it was evening, He was there alone. 24 But the boat was already [b]a long distance from the land, [c]battered by the waves; for the wind was [d]contrary. 25 And in the [e]fourth watch of the night He came to them, walking on the sea. 26 When the disciples saw Him walking on the sea, they were terrified, and said, “It is a ghost!” And they cried out [f]in fear. 27 But immediately Jesus spoke to them, saying, “Take courage, it is I; do not be afraid.”

28 Peter said to Him, “Lord, if it is You, command me to come to You on the water.”29 And He said, “Come!” And Peter got out of the boat, and walked on the water and came toward Jesus. 30 But seeing the wind, he became frightened, and beginning to sink, he cried out, “Lord, save me!” 31 Immediately Jesus stretched out His hand and took hold of him, and *said to him, “You of little faith, why did you doubt?” 32 When they got into the boat, the wind stopped. 33 And those who were in the boat worshiped Him, saying, “You are certainly God’s Son!”

Being dropped of at the airport for the adventure in Costa Rica
Being dropped of at the airport for the adventure in Costa Rica

Leave a Reply

