One Month Home!

Hi there. What a week… what a month. We have officially been home with Eric for one month as of May 18th! Crazy!!! How did that happen!?!?! This month has been the greatest, the most challenging, the most telling of my heart, the most convicting, the happiest, and (insert every other emotion here) of my life! Adoption is crazy. How can you love someone SO much that you haven’t known for that long? How can your heart ache so bad for them to open up, to be completely happy, to feel completely comfortable, to love you, to laugh constantly… when you have little control over how they process and accept things? Ugh. It’s the best and the hardest feelings ever.

This past week Jacob was in Costa Rica doing some amazing work for Jesus!!! I’m so proud of him and the team. It was a really incredible trip that I REALLY REALLY REALLY wanted to be on. It was with our former church’s college group from Troy! Jacob got to lead and work alongside students (and our favorite pastor) that we have loved and journeyed with before to do some awesome things in Costa Rica! You can read about their trip HERE.

Here’s a picture of the team here in Altamira!

3004
Southside Baptist Church in Altamira, Costa Rica

So with Jacob being awesome with Jesus in Costa Rica… Eric and I were back home experiencing single mom-ness. Ummm… that’s hard. Kutos to all military mommas/daddies and single moms out there!! You rock! We dropped Jacob off at the airport on my first Mother’s Day. Smile. I am BEYOND thankful to be this boy’s Mom. We had Mother’s Day breakfast at Waffle House. Yum! Honestly… I was nervous about being a single mom for a week. Really nervous. What was it going to be like? What were going to do? What was going to happen? We survived. We had lots of GREAT times, laughs, and fun adventures.

Mother's Day breakfast at Waffle House
Mother’s Day breakfast at Waffle House
Dropping him off at the airport. *Sweet*
Dropping him off at the airport. *Sweet*

While dad was away… we occupied our time with LOTS of things! Here’s some fun pictures from the week.

Got to hang out with Jo. They love each other so so much.
Got to hang out with Jo. They love each other so so much.
Had some fun playing "Just Dance" on the Wi! My favorite game ever! Eric beat me quite a few times!
Had some fun playing “Just Dance” on the Wi! My favorite game ever! Eric beat me quite a few times!
Going to see GODZILLA with my son!!! I'm trying to be a cool mom... it's hard sometimes! Ha!
Going to see GODZILLA with my son!!! I’m trying to be a cool mom… it’s hard sometimes! Ha!
Fun time at the Birmingham zoo! Eric LOVED the snakes! and lion.
Fun time at the Birmingham zoo! Eric LOVED the snakes! and lion.
I got to ride the carousel with my girl Jojo!
I got to ride the carousel with my girl Jojo!
We visited Vulcan... and his booty!! Love the view from up there of Birmingham!
We visited Vulcan… and his booty!! Love the view from up there of Birmingham!
We got to eat dinner with Nanny, Jojo, Kylie, and Ashley! Love spending time with these Morgans!
We got to eat dinner with Nanny, Jojo, Kylie, and Ashley! Love spending time with these Morgans!

I also had an Origami Owl party! I sold some Origami Owl and some Breathe Freely jewelry made by another Pelican gal, Bethany Richardson. Proceeds from Origami Owl goes to support our family.  Buy purchasing Breathe Freely jewelry (click the link to check it out), you are supporting 3 sets of people: 
• 50% goes directly to Jacob, Anna, & Eric Morgan
• 25% goes to Eric & Bethany Richardson (and baby) – other Praying Pelican Missions Staff
• 25% of all proceeds go to purchase formula and diapers for new mothers in Haiti

Pretty awesome, right???!!!???

10367717_10100746094223196_4029168626114788031_n

So… I learned a lot this week… A.L.O.T. I learned a lot about Eric (so thankful for that). I learned more about his thoughts, his hurts, his hopes, his defenses, and who he is. I love him more than he’ll ever, ever understand. I learned a lot about myself. We had a great time! There were definitely some challenging moments… as with any kiddo. We survived many things = not 1… but 2 airsoft gun fatalities/exchanges, a dead car battery, another visit to the International Adoption Clinic, first trip to Walmart together, trying on clothes at TJ Maxx (funny), first “play date” (haha), babysitting Jojo together (just for a couple of hours), me coming off “maternity” leave, occupying a teenage boy needing some man time… not mom time, and more.  Funny thing happened though… WALTER IS ACTUALLY SLEEPING IN THE BED WITH ERIC NOW! Haha! They are both in heaven!

My take away from the week was I CAN’T DO IT. When I focus on what I can do and offer and give and fix… it fails. When I focus on what He can do through and with me… things change.  It may not change the outcome at times… but it changes my attitude, my stress level, and my patience. I have become so much more thankful for grace, for new mercies each day, and that I can boldly approach His throne with my needs/fears/dreams/hopes. I am grateful and in awe of the cross… the reason that I can rest on His strength and wisdom. Praying for your child (and your husband) is the most burdensome privilege I could ever take on. I never thought I could love so much and want so much for 2 people. It’s a crazy thing. Thankful we have a God who hears and answers. I seriously don’t know what people do without Jesus… I would have to be put in an insane asylum.

I love my life. Thankful for my family! Thankful for adoption and all that it means! Thankful that we’ve been home for a month and I’m looking forward to many more!

Leave a Reply

