It’s really happening…

10471438_10100776085290856_1152269823348522392_n
At ATL airport, heading to Costa Rica

This picture right here is amazing. It’s an image that shows so many of my dreams, prayers, desires, plans, and waiting becoming a reality! I know this is a little dramatic… but just go with me. Today (between all the intensely stressful things that just happen to come up this morning) I just kept thinking “Wow, this is really happening… it’s really happening.” I felt like so many prayers and things I believed were spoken over my life were actually coming together today! (This is the dramatic part) I thought about how David might have felt in the  Bible when 17 years after he was anointed as king… he actually became King of Israel. And when Joshua finally crossed over into the Promised Land… what was he thinking? And Mary when she finally held Jesus in her arms after months of waiting and anticipating. And Noah when the rain actually came after working so hard to build an ark when he had never seen rain.  I’m sure they all had some thought like “Wow… this is actually… finally… happening!” Well… I had one of those days.

2 years ago this July we took a trip to Belize through the organization we now work for, Praying Pelican Missions (PPM). We took our youth group to serve in Belize City for a week. This trip totally wrecked us in ways we never thought possible. We went praying that God would do immeasurably more than we could imagine and trusting He would change the lives of our youth group… we never thought He would turn our lives upside down like He did.

While in Belize, I was TOTALLY intrigued by the fact that our Trip Leader, Laura, did this whole missions thing as her full-time job. She got to invest in teams coming down from North America, serve alongside them, build relationships with the pastors/communities she worked in, and make a living doing it. WHAT?!?! I asked her so many questions and was beyond interested in doing the same thing. I knew from the time I went on missions trips with my youth group to Mexico, that missions would forever be a part of my life.

Seriously, the day after we got back from our Belize trip, I contacted PPM, got the application, filled it out, and submitted it. I KNEW that this was my dream job! I KNEW I was made for something like that. I interviewed, was offered the job, talked about a start date, and then… it wasn’t the right time. Ugh. God said wait. Ugh. The worst 4-letter word EVER!! W-A-I-T. So I tried to. If you read through my journals from the last 2 years, you will see these words over and over “Lord, if I am not suppose to work with PPM in the future you are going to HAVE to get it out of my head. You are going to have to change my heart.”  He never did. But… the reason I had to wait was worth it… Eric.

While on the same trip to Belize, we met our Eric. I don’t know how else to explain it, but when we met him we KNEW he was our son. Strange, I know. Jacob knew immediately, and I felt the same. I bawled like a child when we got back on the bus from meeting him at the orphanage. I knew what it meant… kind of. I knew we had to bring him home with us one day. Again, the week after we got back from Belize, we did our research, found an adoption agency, and started the process.

So… the picture above – our Eric and ALL of my family heading to Costa Rica to do missions with PPM for the summer – is 2 years worth of prayers, tears, excitement, dreams, plans, LEAPS of faith, and joy. So many crazy things and clear direction has happened between then and now. I mean… come on… I thought it was just my dream to do missions full-time and Jacob is on board too! And Laura, our Trip Leader in Belize, is now the Costa Rica Country Ops woman… she’s our go-to girl! Pretty crazy, huh? Jesus always keeps me in awe. We both quit our previous jobs to pursue missions. Our Eric is home. He is with us. AND WE ARE DOING MINISTRY TOGETHER!!!! 

It’s really happening.

I can’t wait to see what the Lord has in store.

I’m freaking out a little because I, just me, cannot do it. But He will.

I am genuinely freaking out about driving in Costa Rica. I cannot even fathom how many times I am going to get lost this summer. I’ll probably set a world record… but whatev! Hopefully I’ll always be find-able!

It’s really happening and no one can deny it’s all because of God.

So… here we go! Pura Vida!

13 I remain confident of this:
    I will see the goodness of the Lord
    in the land of the living.
14 Wait for the Lord;
    be strong and take heart
    and wait for the Lord.

Psalm 27:13-14

Taken in Belize in 2012, where it all started...
Taken in Belize in 2012, where it all started… and Laura is in the background

Leave a Reply

