How are you held accountable?

Jacob Thoughts:

Yesterday morning in church Pastor Buddy said a statement that really stood out to me.

“It’s impossible to play in the dirt without getting dirty.”

I know it is a simple statement, but it spoke volumes to me!  Now that we have a 14 year old I thought this statement was profound.  We all face the challenge of surrounding ourselves with good people and walking with Christ when we are away from church, but I think these are two things I have struggled with a bit as of late.  Now, don’t think that I have gone crazy and started living some wild lifestyle (no need for starting a rumor, you baptists), but I have struggled finding accountability and good men to live life with here in Trussville.

So, I was talking with Eric about what Buddy talked about after church and trying to explain this statement to him. (Sometimes our expressions can be a little difficult for him to understand.)  I told him this was a very important thing to understand as a 14 year old and talked with him about who he surrounds himself with and what he does when no one is watching.  He understood what I was talking about, but then the conversation just stalled (for anyone involved with teenagers, you know what I mean when I say, “He just stopped caring about what I was saying.”).

After we stopped talking about church I began to think about myself and this statement.  How did this apply to me and where was I when it came to accountability?  We as men tend to think that we don’t need to talk about our problems and face the girl-talk conversations, but we really need this in our lives.  We need someone that we can talk about life with and someone we can spend time with to grow as Christ-like men! Proverbs 27:17 (ESV) says,

“Iron sharpens iron, and one man sharpens another.”

Last week I was able to grab lunch with my buddy Jeff and he may never know how much that lunch meant to me, but I’m going to explain.  Jeff and I are really just getting to know one another.  We are learning different things about each other and kind of feeling out the friendship (as I like to call it).  With that said, Jeff asked me a question the other day that I really appreciated.  He simply asked, “So, what are you doing to grow spiritually right now?”  I told him some stuff I have been reading and then he shared about what he was enjoying reading lately.  It was just a simple conversation, but one I have not had in a while.  I haven’t had those same relationships that I had in Troy working at a church.  So, I guess I have longed for that lately and I appreciated Jeff asking me that, because I feel challenged to grow when I’m asked questions like that.

I guess the reason I write this is to challenge all of us as men to pursue accountability to grow spiritually.  We all need someone that understand what we are going through to help push us in our spiritual journey (outside of your wife).  It is imperative for our spiritual growth!  1 Thessalonians 5:11 (ESV) says,

“Therefore encourage one another and build one another up…”

Let’s be the men of God that we are called to be and work together toward one purpose of glorifying the Father!

Leave a Reply

