11 weeks!! – Pregnancy Post

We are at 11 weeks people!! So crazy!PhotoGrid_1423675297897 - Edited

Size of the baby: The babe is a LIME!!! Woo hoo! It’s like 1.5 inches long. It has fingers and toes!! Oh my goodness… how microscopic are those things?? It’s bones are beginning to harden. It’s starting to hiccup!! How crazy?!?! …But I can’t feel it yet. It’s just growing and kicking and swimming around in there! One of the apps says it’s kicking like a ballerina. Ha!

Symptoms: I have been feeling pretty puny this week… especially in the mornings and at night. I did barf again. That’s no fun. It was pretty random too. Glad I was at home. Sometimes my tummy is hurting, but I don’t really know what’s going on. Jacob will ask me, “Are you ok?”… and I’ll just say, “I’m not sure.” I have to decide if it’s passing or hanging out for a while. Strange stuff. Still tired at night by 8:00.  Maybe I’ll be a big girl soon and be able to stay up.  I hope I can hang with my team in a week and a half! I don’t want to fall asleep during their revival services… that would be awkward.

Cravings this week: Again… I don’t know if you call these “cravings” but this is what I have wanted. I LOVE LOVE LOVE Chick-Fil-A’s chicken wraps right now.  I also HAD to have Taziki’s weekend special on Saturday… it was do or die. I am loving some carbs – pastas especially. I love baked potatoes… I want them A LOT. I am still loving fruits and veggies and not a big fan of meat. Ugh… I just have to get the protein from peanut butter and eggs… not together though. I also am snacking throughout the day. I can’t go for a long time without food. Hunger hits you like a crazy woman and you have to eat within .5 seconds… if not, you feel like you are going to throw up! It’s a unique balance!

Sleeping: I’m still sleeping great. Weird dreams… yep. No pee breaks yet either… or I’m just ignoring them.

Maternity Clothes: Not yet but I am preferring my lose fitting jeans and shirts at the moment. I really don’t enjoy the feeling of my tummy hanging over my button. So… there’s that.

Gender: I still have NO CLUE! My friend suggested I test out the Chinese Calendar for the gender. I did. It says it will be a BOY… so I guess we’ll see! Deep in my gut I think it is a girl… but I just don’t know.  Jacob still swears it’s a boy. We’ll find out in April.

Weight Gain: Hopefully not a ton… want to make the doc proud. But… with all my snacking… who knows! The babe is hungry though! A mom’s gotta do what a mom’s gotta do!

Stretch Marks: Not yet!

Real Talk: It’s fun to connect with other moms because I’m experiencing pregnancy now. Before, I could connect with adoption moms with ease… but I never understood the whole bio babe thing.  Now… I am experiencing both sides and I love it. My Sunday School class is awesome… there’s like 3 of us pregnant right now and I think there were like 10 babies born within the last year and a half. YIKES! So, being pregnant there’s so many woman I can relate to now and it’s really neat. This past Sunday we had a baby shower for one of the mommies and were just able to sit around and talk about REAL mom stuff – boob growth, learning to love your baby well, hospital stories, fears, excitements, insecurities that rise up in mommas, how they coped after birth, and everything in between. I haven’t been able to really engage in those conversations before because I just wasn’t interested. The bond moms can have and the way only moms can understand moms… that’s just a cool thing! I think I’m going to enjoy having our Sunday School class moms around me… all of us cheering each other on as we raise our little ones…. and our big ones! Smile. So moms everywhere… we just need to make a pact that we won’t judge each other, put each other down, or constantly play the comparison game with our kiddos/ways of doing things. Let’s build each other up, make each other laugh, and embrace all the differences that come with being a mom! It’s hard work! We need other moms!

Leave a Reply

